Question regarding PCE and LOO error

Hi Everyone,

I am new to UQ and working on the analysis of a building structural model under seismic loading. There are 15 random variables (material parameters) in the model and the output is the median seismic response of the structure.

I have already got a data set with the size of 1000 (inputs were obtained by Latin Hypercube Sampling). I trained a PCE model with 800 data samples and used the remaining 200 as a validation set. The errors and the a plot of validation is shown below:

PCE metamodel validation error: 1.0273e-01
PCE metamodel LOO error: 7.6733e-02

I have also run the UQLab code with different training sizes up to 1000, a plot of training size v.s. LOO error is shown below:

Capture1

As recommended by Professor Sudret (Acceptable LOO Error), a LOO error less than 0.01 is sufficient for obtaining accurate moments or sensitivity indices of the output. So based on the second plot, it seems that I need a lot more data to achieve a LOO error of 0.01.

My questions are:
(1) Does the second plot look normal? The LOO error decreases very slowly with the increase of the training size.
(2) If I cannot achieve a low value of the LOO error, is there anyway to prove that the metamodel is reliable?

Thank you very much!

Best,

Hongzhou

Dear @HZhang

Thanks for your question.
I want to share my suggestions. Please follow them:

• As Prof. Sudret comprehensively discussed in the Acceptable LOO Error, the LOO error could have bigger values and its dependent on the case study. I think the trend of the LOO error is acceptable in your mentioned figure.

• What is the guideline? You could read my discussion on the Goodness-of-fit Tests question.

• Besides, based on the suggestions by the UserManual_PCE, please read my answers in the Polynomial chaos expansions question to use the ADAPTIVE options which are implemented in the UQLab.

I hope this helps but please let me know if you have any other questions.
Best regards
Ali