Polynomial chaos expansions

Hey everyone!

I am new to this subject so I would really appreciate if anyone could help me :slight_smile: I study civil engineering and I am currently working on my master thesis, where I wanted to implement PCE. However even though I followed the examples and read the user manual on PCE, i still can’t seem to get a pretty decent prediction based on my data. I just want to make sure that the problem is the data and not the code. Since I am a new user, I can’t upload attachments.

clearvars

uqlab

load X.mat
load Y.mat

X=X_ED(1:639,:);
Xval=X_ED(640:end,:);
Y=Y_ED(1:639);
Yval=Y_ED(640:end,:);

[R,C]=size(X);

for i=1:C
InputOpts.Marginals(i).Name = sprintf(‘X%d’,i);
InputOpts.Marginals(i).Type = ‘Uniform’;
InputOpts.Marginals(i).Moments = [mean(X(:,i)) std(X(:,i))];
end

myInput = uq_createInput(InputOpts);

MetaOpts.Type = ‘Metamodel’;
MetaOpts.MetaType = ‘PCE’;
MetaOpts.ExpDesign.X = X;
MetaOpts.ExpDesign.Y = Y;
MetaOpts.Degree = 1:5;
MetaOpts.ValidationSet.X = Xval;
MetaOpts.ValidationSet.Y = Yval;

myPCE = uq_createModel(MetaOpts);

uq_print(myPCE)

%validation
YPCE = uq_evalModel(myPCE,Xval);

imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-6aIzanLlzQJ4ZxKb
these pictures show the difference between my pce and polynomial regression models

Thank you so much, I really appreciate anyones help :slight_smile:

Dear @sstore23

Welcome to UQLab!
Could you please report the LOO error?
You can find a fruitful discussion in Acceptable LOO Error to learn more about this magic test.
Besides, try a bigger adaptive degree range by using:

MetaOpts.Degree = 1:30;

and q-norm-Adaptive PCE by:

MetaOpts.TruncOptions.qNorm = 0.5:0.1:1;

I hope this helps
Ali

2 Likes

------------ Polynomial chaos output ------------
Number of input variables: 2
Maximal degree: 5
q-norm: 1.00
Size of full basis: 21
Size of sparse basis: 10
Full model evaluations: 639
Leave-one-out error: 3.5708562e-02
Validation error: 1.0688788e+00
Mean value: 48.2893
Standard deviation: 1.2510