Running NREL FAST wind turbine simulator with UQLab?

Hey,

I am a beginner at UQ Lab and also new to the forum. I would some advice on developing a surrogate model for quantities derived from a stochastic wind turbine simulator named FAST developed by NREL. I believe there is a module facilitated by UQLab to add the finite element simulator as an external routine and utilize its output for further processing. But I don’t know how and where to start the same. Basically, I have random wind and wave loads that will be described as input to the wind turbine simulator FAST. So, how do I do this for let’s say ‘n’ a number of required runs to achieve an arguably approximate surrogate model for let’s say, blade moments for varying wind speed, turbulence, and wave loads? Any leads shall be helpful. Thanks.

Subham

Dear Subham

Thanks for your interesting questions. Unfortunately, to my knowledge, there is no literature in the field of uncertainty quantification that deals with this kind of problem. Very high-dimensional, temporally coherent inputs and outputs are a rather rare case for which there is no model in UQLab that inherently supports this. However, we are working on it and it will be part of future releases, but it is unclear when this will be.

Best regards
Styfen

Hi there @Subham_Kashyap ,
just to clarify: the issue is not on a programming level, but rather at a much more general theory/research level.

There exist currently no straightforward “black box” surrogate that can take blindly train on a bunch of time series and produce an accurate emulation of the output. This is the research topic of Styfen’s PhD, btw, so he’s definitely an expert on the topic :wink:

You can have a look at the topic of physics-informed neural networks, which is probably getting kind of closer to what you are aiming for than anything else I know. But once again, there’s no “one-button” solution available in the literature at the moment.

Best regards
stefano