Result extrapolation from Bayesian inversion

Hi UQ World :smiley:

I am working with Bayesian Inversion, and I am pretty new to the topic. I have a similar question of this post.

I am performing some Bayesian Inversion from a model \mathcal{M} that uses 7 input variables (M=7) to produce 2 vectors (of dimension 7, N_\mathrm{out}=7#confusionalert) as model output. As forward models, I use the previously computed PCEs. The outcomes are named HS and LS, respectively. As a reference

% 2. give forward model, in my case the PCE surrogates
ForwardModels(1).Model = PCE_HS;
ForwardModels(1).PMap = [1 2 3 4 5 6 7];
ForwardModels(2).Model = PCE_LS;
ForwardModels(2).PMap = [1 2 3 4 5 6 7];
bayesOpts.ForwardModel = ForwardModels;

I then perform the computation of the Bayesian problem, as in

% RUN IT FORREST
myBayesian_bothModels = uq_createAnalysis(bayesOpts);

% results are stored into myBayesian.Results. Generate good posterior sample with
uq_postProcessInversion(myBayesian_bothModels,'burnIn', 0.8,'pointEstimate',{'Mean','MAP'})

Now, I would like to extract the data point and the likelihood of the post-processed results. I had a look on UQ World, and so far, I could only find this solution (thank you @paulremo :upside_down_face:), but nothing regarding the likelihood values.

PostSample3D = myBayesian_bothModels.Results.PostProc.PostSample;
PostSample2D = reshape(permute(PostSample3D, [2 1 3]), size(PostSample3D, 2), []).';

The inversion results show high multimodality of my model, highlighting different “areas” where the model parameters are calibrated. Therefore, I was thinking of adding a selection procedure of the results based on the likelihood values of each sampling point.
To be more precise, I would like to extract the values that color the results in shades of blue of the posterior distributions. @olaf.klein, do you know how to do this due to your past experience on the topic?