RBDO using PCE

Hi, UQLab!! :slight_smile:
My major is chemical engineering and I am using data simulation programs. However, data extraction takes a long time because it uses a CFD program that includes formulas such as hydrodynamics.

I am interested in studying RBDO for optimal design of reactor. It was very interesting to see an example of RBDO using MC. However, MC requires too much data compared to PCE, making it difficult to incorporate into my research.
So i think that the best way is PCE.

Is Data Driven RBDO using PCE available in UQLab?
I want to set the failure probability numerically like 0.001 to get the optimum values ​​and optimal design variables of the objective function.

Source : Reliability-Based Design Optimization of a Large-Scale Truss Structure Using Polynomial Chaos Expansion Metamodel, 2020

Hi @Chemicaleng,

Yes you can use PCE for solving RBDO problems with UQLab. Please have a look at the example 04 of the RBDO module (Surrogate-assisted RBDO, Section 4.2 - https://www.uqlab.com/rbdo-surrogate-assisted-rbdo ) for more details how to set up the analysis.
Basically all you need to do is to choose the size of the initial experimental design and set the options of the PCE model. The module will then adaptively build the surrogate model with the aim of accurately representing the limit-state surface. Once this is done, the reliability-based design optimization will be carried out using the built PCE instead of the original model.

I would suggest you also have a look at the possibility of using Kriging instead of PCE.

Cheers,
Moustapha

Thank you for your kind reply :slight_smile:

I read the Surrogate-assisted RBDO you said.
But what I said is, like Data driven PCE, it’s a way of optimizing only with Data.
However, Surrogate-assisted RBDO seems to be a case of knowing the limit state function of the system in advance, not using only data. However, I thought that the limit state function may not be known in a complex system.