Polynomial chaos expansion with vine copula input

Hi everyone,

I am studying PCE and I have encountered a problem that troubles me quite a while. I’d appreciate it if I can get any help or advise from you.

I read from manual that UQLab supports copula now, so I try it on the example provided in section ‘Calculation strategies’. I would like to know what would happen if we still assume the inputs are independent when the actual inputs are in vine structure. Or how much impact copula will have onto the PCE metamodel.

So I create another input with copula structure and run the example again. This time I get two PCE metamodels, one is based on independent inputs while the other is based on inputs with C-vine structure. The marginals of two types of inputs are the same. The only difference is the copula type. As done in the example, I produce scatter plots of the metamodel vs. the true response. However, I cannot get the desired results.

I am wondering what is the appropriate way to construct PCE based on inputs that have copula structure and how to debug in this situation.

Thanks for your time.

Best

3 Likes

Hi Charol, welcome to UQWorld! :slight_smile:

That’s a very interesting question! When PCE are used, most of the time it is assumed that the input variables are independent. But what to do if they are dependent? There are several options:

• Ignore that there are dependencies and build a PCE with basis polynomials that are orthonormal wrt. the input marginals.
  • Transform the input into independent variables (isoprobabilistic transform), then build a PCE on these independent variables.
  • Build arbitrary PCE with basis polynomials that are orthonormal wrt. the (dependent) probability density function.

The first two approaches have been compared in the recent paper
Torre, Marelli, Embrechts, Sudret (2019): Data-driven PCE for machine learning regression