How to analyze the convergence in Sobol indices?

Hello, I am a newbie in UQlab. When I use Sobol indices for sensitivity analysis, such as using the meta-models PCE and LRA, how can I view the convergence process of FSI and TSI at the sampling scale. In addition, when using different sampling methods, I want to compare their convergence rates. What should I do? Any help will be appreciated!

Dear Fanfan

Thanks for using UQLab!

In a UQLab session, you can define as many polynomial chaos expansions / sensitivity analyses as you want. Every surrogate model or analysis has a specific variable name and the results stay in the workspace until you clear these variables.

So, if you want to compare the results of various PCE-based Sobol’ indices for different experimental designs (ED), you can simply use a loop over your scenarios, and:

• create the experimental designs first (of various type, various size, etc.)
  • then, create a PCE for each of them and use a subsequent sensitivity analysis. Here, for each ED, you should use LAR with a vector of possible maximal degrees, and a vector of q-norms, so as to obtain the best PCE possible based on the available data.

Then you can post-process the results (read from the fields mySensPCE.Results) and prepare plots that are relevant to you. You’ll find relevant information in the example uq_Example_PCE_02_ExperimentalDesign.m and the sensitivity analysis examples uq_Example_Sensitivity_02_SobolIndices.m and uq_Example_Sensitivity_03_HighDimensionalSobol.m.

Note that you can define cell arrays of PCE models or sensitivity analysis within a loop, e.g.:

for k = 1: NED    % loop on the various experimental designs
   % define your PCE options 
   PCEOpts.blabla = ...;
   myPCE{k} = uq_createModel(PCEOpts);

% define the PCE-Sobol options
   SobolOpts.Type = 'Sensitivity';
   SobolOpts.Method = 'Sobol';
   mySobolPCE{k} = uq_createAnalysis(SobolOpts);    % Works with the latest PCE defined, i.e.   myPCE{k} 
end