Calculate Sobol' indices despite some model evaluations failing?

Dear Community,

I have been using UQLab to run sensitivity studies on a large custom model written in Python. I have done so using both UQLink and a wrapper function (as described in the Model user manual). Now, for some combinations of input parameters my Python model fails to converge. This is desired as it provides insight into the feasibility of certain input parameter combinations, however, those failed model evaluations seem to prevent calculating the Sobol’ indices.

Now, I am not an expert in the field so I don’t know how these cases should be dealt with from a mathematical viewpoint, but in section 2.7.8 (‘Recovering failed results’) of the UQLink user manual it says that responses corresponding to failed simulations are set to NaN (as observed in ‘uq_ProcessedY’, a screenshot of which is attached). When trying to calculate the Sobol’ indices from the following code,

SobolOpts.Type = 'Sensitivity';
SobolOpts.Method = 'Sobol';
SobolOpts.Sobol.Order = 1;
SobolOpts.Sobol.SampleSize = 4;
mySobolAnalysisMC = uq_createAnalysis(SobolOpts);
mySobolResultsMC = mySobolAnalysisMC.Results;

I get the following error message:

Error using uq_sobol_indices
Unable to perform assignment because the size of the left side is 1-by-9 and the size of the right side is 1-by-0.

Is this due to the fact that my ‘UQLinkOutput’ folder only contains the files corresponding to those evaluations which did not fail (see further attached screenshot)?

In summary, my question is whether I can still calculate calculate the Sobol’ indices despite some model evaluations failing?

Best wishes and many thanks for your help,
Nils

Dear Nils