Building the polynomial basis and using copulas

Hello!

I am a beginner at building metamodels and I have two theoretical questions about the process.

1. I have a question in regards to building the polynomial basis and calculation of the coefficients of PCE models. I can’t seem to understand how are the moment (parameters) of the marginal pdfs of the variables used in it. So if I have an experimental data set and I specify the marginals for the input variables:

Input.Marginals(1).Type = ‘Gaussian’;
Input.Marginals(1).Parameters = [0 1];
Input.Marginals(2).Type = ‘Gaussian’;
Input.Marginals(2).Moments = [0 1];

and than also choose the polynomials in regards to the marginals pdfs:
MetaOpts.PolyTypes = {‘hermite’,‘hermite’};

and the maximal degree of the basis:
MetaOpts.Degree = 2;

while I am using the ‘OLS’ method for the calculation of the coefficients, how are the parameters of the marginal distributions used? I have chosen the polynomials and the maximal degree of the basis (so I already know the basis) and I get the coefficients with the OLS method directly from evaluating on the experimental data set, so how do the parameters influence the PCE model/bases?

1. The second question is in regards to copulas. So if I have the same input for example, how will using a Gaussian copula mathematically influence the basis?

InputOpts.Copula.Type = ‘Gaussian’;
InputOpts.Copula.RankCorr = [1 0.8; 0.8 1];

So where in the calculation does the copula change the model? The polynomials in the basis? The coefficients?

I would really appreciate the help.
Thanks

Hi @sstore23

For your first question: as soon as you have defined the marginal distributions, UQLab automatically selects the right orthogonal polynomials. The “technical” construction of the polynomials uses the full distribution of each parameter X_1, X_2, etc. and you don’t need to take care of it by yourself (even the line MetaOpts.PolyTypes = {‘hermite’,‘hermite’}; is not necessary in your input file).