Before applying metamodels

Hi,

I am currently working on the UQ of two complex numerical models A and B. I can obtain 500 y_A and y_B with reasonable time. My goal is to find the correlation coefficient between y_A and y_B, i.e., r_AB, and conduct sensitivity analysis on r_AB. I am thinking about using metamodels to generate y_A’ and y_B’ and then find r_AB and Sobol’ indices for SA. Is there any ways to justify the usage of metamodels? I think in order to justify it, I should some how demonstrate that the metamodels will provide more accurate results than just a few hundreds outputs y_A and y_B generated by the numerical model. I am not sure if my thinking is correct. Looking forward to your comments. Thank you very much.

Hello,
I am not an expert but I often use metamodels and sensitivity analysis for engineering applications, so I’ll try to do my best to help.
I am not sure to understand your problem statement :

• For me, the correlation coefficient between y_a and y_B is not a variable of your inputs : you do not have a local result, but it depends on the whole set y_a and y_B. To put things differently, I can’t switch to a problem of the form r_{AB} = f(X) (where X is your input).
  • Generally speaking, if you want to compute Sobol indices, I think you need much more samples than 500, and metamodels will help you there. Here is a graph of the Sobol total index, in the example 2 of the sensitivity (in UQLab files). I modified the sample sized, and I display the Sobol index (of the first input, the most influential) to estimate the accuracy of the sensitivity analysis : untitled
    For small sample sizes, the Sobol analysis is not really accurrate (the Sobol index is 0.6 with 250 samples, and 0.76 for 500 samples).

I hope this helps,
Marc

1 Like

Hi @M_Groslambert , thank you very much for the reply!