Bayesian Inference with RSME

Hi all!

I have been using UQLab for a few months now and would like to thank you for making it available.

I mainly use the library for Bayesian inference for model calibration have come across query on how one could use UQ lab, particularly the inversion stage, to fit a curve of points rather than individual points. I can imagine that you could define multiple forward models, as given in the example/documentation but this might be a bit cumbersome once you have more than say, 4 points of interest.

If for example, you could use root-mean-square error (RMSE) as an objective function, instead of discrete measurements, you could in theory (and as many researchers have done in literature) fit the whole curve.

Can someone help with this question?

Thanks!

Truong

Hi @Truong_Le,

Thanks for asking here. Actually, I do not really understand what you mean about “fit a curve of points”. Do you want to use Bayesian regression or perform model calibration? Could you please explain a bit more in details?

Best regards,
Xujia

%% 2 - COMPUTATIONAL MODEL WITH UQLINK (WRAPPER)
%
% Initialize UQLink:
myUQLinkModel = Initialize;
iterate = false;

%% 3 - PROBABILISTIC INPUT MODEL
% 
% 3.1 Input parameters (Prior distribution)
Initial = cell(3,1);
Initial_mean = [10E+3 100];
Initial_std = [1E+3 10];
Initial_name = {'E', 'Su'};
numberofVariables = length(Initial_name);

% Create the INPUT object
myInput = DataInput(Initial_mean,Initial_std,Initial_name);

% 4 - SAMPLING FROM PDF AND EVALUATE MODEL 

% of samples via Latin Hypercube sampling:
NumberofSamples = 5;
Data_samples=[];
numerical_output=[];
[numerical_output,Data_samples] = Evaluatemodel(NumberofSamples,iterate,Data_samples,numerical_output);

%################# End of UQLINK interaction ###########################

%%

%% 4.2 POLYNOMIAL CHAOS EXPANSION (PCE) 

% Threshold for "serviceability/ultimate limit"
Threshold = cell(1,2);