Applying PCE for time dependent ODE models

Hello guys,
I am new to UQLab.
I am trying to use PCE to build a metamodel for my time-dependent computational model that is built using Matlab ode45, and it has a few input parameters that take random variables. The output of my model is time series data for a specific combination of input parameters.
I know how to work with scalar models like the ishigami function but I am not sure how to implement the aforementioned model.
I would be grateful if you could help me by sharing a resource or providing a hint.

Hi @slodan

I usually consider each time instance of the model as a different model output. Then, if your aim is to perform a sensitivity analysis, you could consider each output’s sensitivity as a time instance.
For this, you could also see the work of Alexanderian et al. “Variance-based sensitivity analysis for time-dependent processes” to interpret the results.

I hope this helped. :upside_down_face:

Hello @giansteve

Thank you for your helpful response.
My aim is to perform time-frozen PCE analysis, and I tried to compute the metamodel independently for each time instance, by passing time instances as a parameter to my model. But since it is computationally demanding it took a lot of time. Is there any other simpler or more efficient method?

Hi @slodan

What do you mean by time-frozen PCE analysis?
You said you passed time instances as a parameter into your model. How did you statistically model the time parameter for the PCE computation? I think this is one of the main issues here, i.e., the modeling of the time as a random variable for the PCE computation. Time can not be a random variable. At least not from what I understand. It could be a random variable in your problem. You could paste your code here to explain your intent better.